Corporate Governance:

The role of Family, CEO, Foreign Investors

 

 

June 17, 2008

 

 

VENUE: Institute of Economic Research (Meeting Room, 4F)

Hitotsubashi University, Tokyo

 

 

 

ORGANIZERS

 

 

 

PROGRAM COMMITTEE

 

Vikas Mehrotra (University of Alberta)

Yupana Wiwattanakantang (Hitotsubashi University)
Joseph Fan (Chinese University of Hong Kong)
Morten Bennedsen (Copenhagen Business School)
 
 
FUNDING
      Center for Economic Institutions at the Institute of Economic Research and
      International Seminar, Hitotsubashi University, Japan 
      Grant-in-Aid Scientific Research, Japan
      Center of Economic and Finance
      Department of Economics, Copenhagen Business School.
 

 

PROGRAM

 

 

Session 1: CEOs

Chair: Morten Bennedsen (Copenhagen Business School)

 

10.30 - 11.30    CEO Centrality

Lucian A. Bebchuk (Harvard Law School and NBER), Martijn Cremers (Yale  School of Management), and Urs Peyer (INSEAD)

 

Discussant: Katsuyuki Kubo (Waseda Univesity)

 

11.30 – 12.30   Mergers and Acquisitions: The Role of Gender

Maurice D. Levi (University of British Columbia), Kai Li (University of British Columbia), Feng Zhang (University of British Columbia)

 

Discussant: Seki Obata (Keio University)

 

12.30- 14.30   Lunch

 

 

Session 2: Family and networks

Chair: Vikas Mehrotra (University of Alberta and CEI visiting scholar)

 

14.30- 15.30     Inheritance Law and Investment in Family Firms

                         Marco Pagano (University of Naples Federico II), Giovanni Immordino (Università di Salerno and CSEF)

                          

                         Discussant: Asim Khwaja (Harvard University)

 

15.30 – 16.30   The Value of Business Networks

                         Asim Khwaja (Harvard University), Atif Mian (University of Chicago) and A. Qamar (State Bank of Pakistan)

 

                         Discussant: Urs Peyer (INSEAD)

 

 

16.30 – 17.00 Coffee/tea time

 

 

Session 3:       Foreign Investors

Chair: Yupana Wiwattanatankang (Hitotsubashi University)

 

17.00 – 18.00   Do Foreign Investors Exhibit a Corporate Governance Disadvantage? An Information Asymmetry Perspective

                         Jun Koo Kang (Michigan State University, CEI Visiting Professor), Jini-Mo Kim (University of Missouri–Kansas City)

 

                         Discussant: Morten Bennedsen (Copenhagen Business School)

 

18.00- 19.00              Delistings from European Stock Exchanges 1996-2004

                         Steen Thomsen (Copenhagen Business School)

 

                         Discussant: Cong Wang (Chinese University of Hong Kong)

 

19.00           Dinner

19.00-21.30 Discussion and open forum

 

 


`List of Participants`

 

No.

Name

Affiliation

E-mail

1

Morten

Bennedsen

Copenhagen Business School

mb.eco@cbs.dk

2

Kyo

Cho ( j

Tsukuba University

qzhangsk.tsukuba.ac.jp

3

Kyoji

Fukao

Hitotsubashi University

cr00088@srv.cc.hit-u.ac.jp

4

Hiroshi

Hata

Tokyo Electric Power Company

hata.hiroshii@tepco.co.jp

5

Jun Koo

Kang

CEI Visiting Professor

kangju@bus.msu.edu

6

Masatoshi

Kato

Hitotsubashi University

masatoshi.kato@gmail.com

7

Takao

Kato

Colgate University/Hitotsubashi U

Tkato@mail.colgate.edu

8

Asim Ijaz

Khwaja

Harvard University

akhwaja@ksg.harvard.edu

9

YoungGak

Kim

Hitotsubashi University

younggak.kim@nifty.com

10

Masaru

Konishi

Hitotsubashi University

cc00580@srv.cc.hit-u.ac.jp,

11

Katsuyuki

Kubo

Waseda University

kkubo@waseda.jp

12

Yessica

Lee ( Hx)

Hitotsubashi University

chiuyuehc@hotmail.com

13

Kai

Li

University of British Columbia

http://finance.sauder.ubc.ca/~kaili

14

Steve

Lin

Gakushuin UniversityFlorida International University

lins@fiu.edu

15

Vikas

Mehrotra

CEI Visiting Professor

vikas.mehrotra@ualberta.ca

16

Hideaki

Miyajima

Waseda University

miyajima@j05.itscom.net

17

Seki

Obata

Keio University

seki@kbs.keio.ac.jp

18

Hiroyuki

Okamuro

Hitotsubashi University

okamuro@econ.hit-u.ac.jp

19

Marco

Pagano

University of Naples Federico II

mrpagano@tin.it

20

Urs

Peyer

Insead Boulevard de Constance

urs.peyer@insead.edu

21

Satu

Roponen

Hitotsubashi University

Satu.Roponen@hse.fi

22

Jung Wook

Shim

Hitotsubashi University

sim0625@gmail.com

23

Tomoko

Shiroyama

Hitotsubashi University

@

24

Kazunori

Suzuki

Chuo University

ksuzuki@tamacc.chuo-u.ac.jp

25

Juro

Teranishi

Hitotsubashi University

@

26

Steen

Thomsen

Copenhagen Business School

st.int@cbs.dk

27

Iichiro

Uesugi

Hitotsubashi University

iuesugi@ier.hit-u.ac.jp

28

Cong

Wang

Chinese University of Hong Kong

congwang@baf.msmail.cuhk.edu.hk

29

Yupana

Wiwattanatankang

Hitotsubashi University

yupana@ier.hit-u.ac.jp

30

Mengxin

Zhao

Bentley College

mengxin.zhao@gmail.com